Sleepovers

There must be something about college that brings out the little girl in guys. When I was little, there was nothing I wanted more after a tough week of adding and subtracting in school than a sleepover with my friends. Sleepovers consisted of all sorts of wonderful things; crafts, chocolate milk, nail polish, and sometimes fort-building. There was always a long process of parental communication involved before the exciting moment of approval when the sleepover-er and the sleepover-ee would scream with excitement and immediately begin planning the long night ahead. College guys seem to share the same passion for sleepovers as a little girl after the moment of approval. But they don’t seem to care too much about chocolate milk and building forts.

Since I arrived at school in the fall, I have received 7 generous sleepover invitations from guys. The invites usually look something like this, in text of course:

Guy Who I Hardly Know: What r u up to tonight?

Me: Not too much, might go out later (trying to sound cool), you?

Guy Who I Hardly Know: Going out with some buddies, maybe you could come and sleepover later?

Me: Haha, I’m really tired and have a lot to do tomorrow, so I don’t think I can. Thanks though. (I figure a flat out “no” would be awkward).

Guy Who I Hardly Know: Alright, the offer still stands.

Me: Haha, k.

After this romantic conversation takes place, “Guy Who I Hardly Know” quickly becomes “Guy Who Wants to Have Sex”. I haven’t been surprised that guys want to have sex, that’s obvious. I’ve just been surprised by the small amount of game that these guys who think they have all the game in the world actually have. Inviting a girl to sleepover, rather than engaging in any sort of foreign contact such as a fun activity, perhaps  going out for a meal, or even just talking, is not always as effective of an approach as guys seem to think. Believe it or not, things like talking can prove to be useful when “spitting game” at a girl, especially when going for the sleepover route. A completely silent sleepover would probably be uncomfortably awkward. 

Most girls, or most humans for that matter, like to know who they’re dealing with in any aspect of life. Whether that means getting to know someone before you call them your best friend or your business partner; this common standard does not disappear when a “sleepover” invitation finds its way into your life. I don’t know why many guys seem to think that is the case.

I’m not against having fun in any way, but there’s a time and a place where that can happen, and a half-ass invite from Guy I Hardly Know doesn’t particularly put me in the mood. Hearing a guy say something like: “Wanna meet at Starbucks?” or “Wanna grab some dinner?” has become surprisingly refreshing.

Leave a comment